Change the Display Format of Single Citations with My NCBI PubMed® User Preferences

ncbi.gif   If you use PubMed a lot, this new feature may be of great interest to you. You can now customize the display of citations retrieved by using a new feature in My NCBI [National Technology Information System].

On June 21st I wrote, I wish PubMed would automatically display the full record. ‘ll keep you posted on exciting new developments on PubMed. This was at the end of an entry about that new AbstractPlus Display. Well, my wish has come true!

Currently, AbstractPlus is the default display in PubMed and if you use the Related Articles feature a lot, it’s great because the first few citations are automatically displayed. But I always like to see the full record, and if you do, too, I have good news. 

I was just reading the July-August NLM Technical Bulletin and I came across an article about how you can customize your PubMed Display:
Change the Display Format of Single Citations with My NCBI PubMed® User Preferences

All you have to do is sign in to My NCBI and click on User Preferences at the left of the screen. You can even choose a pretty colour to highlight your search terms. (The fact that I am excited about having the ability to choose a colour to highlight my search terms is a clear indication that is has been a very long day. But hey – yellow, green, plum, aqua … Who can resist?)

Give My NCBI a try, if you haven’t already. Besides customizing displays and filters, you can save searches and have them run for you at the time(s) you choose.

One Response

  1. […] From Change the Display Format of Single Citations with My NCBI PubMed® User Preferences (link) ± […]

Leave a Reply

